Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Sparks, NV, USA
First Name
David
Last Name
Cooper
Member #

Hey gang-I plan to head to Moab, Utah in mid to late September from the Reno, Nevada area. I am a total newbie at overloading and I am looking for easy to moderate trails that lead to awesome dispersed campsites. My plan so far is to drive through Elko to Salt Lake City(spend the night) and head out early AM to Moab. I have about four maybe five days planned for this trip. Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Reactions: Neal A. Tew

redrockjunkie

Rank I

Contributor III

Salt Lake City, UT
First Name
Tony
Last Name
Of Utah
I'd try to get into SLC early enough to hit up the UGS Map and Bookstore at the DWR building off of Redwood Road and South Temple. They have tons of books on day trips and trails all over the state, and in particular a few fantastic books dedicated to the Moab region and Canyonlands. I'm also planning on heading down mid September to the region from SLC so if you wanted maybe we could coordinate and get you squared away with your trip!

Reactions: Dcooper

1Louder

Rank VI
Launch Member

Member II

AZ
First Name
Chris
Last Name
K
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
K1LDR
Gemini Bridges, Long Canyon, Upper Onion Creek, White Rim Trail, quick tour of Arches national park. Local visitor center has good info and of course searching old threads here for info.

Dcooper

Rank II
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Sparks, NV, USA
First Name
David
Last Name
Cooper
Member #

I'd try to get into SLC early enough to hit up the UGS Map and Bookstore at the DWR building off of Redwood Road and South Temple. They have tons of books on day trips and trails all over the state, and in particular a few fantastic books dedicated to the Moab region and Canyonlands. I'm also planning on heading down mid September to the region from SLC so if you wanted maybe we could coordinate and get you squared away with your trip!