dugan.rec

Rank 0

Contributor I

Colorado
First Name
Ryan
Last Name
Christensen
Hey guys, radio noob here, wondering what your thoughts are on something like the Midland 75-822. I'm not looking to get into HAM right now, just something to have a little extra support out on trips, etc. I use a satellite communicator (Garmin inReach) as an emergency locator, but looking into what my other options are. Thoughts?

Wabbit

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Somewhere out yonder
First Name
Dave
Last Name
Bru
Member #

I too carry an inreach when going out into the field. (phenomenal piece of kit) As for additional comms, I have a Midland MXT 115. GMRS that gives me greater range than a standard FRS handheld. I have the unit mounted in my Jeep and I also carry two handheld FRS/GMRS units so all three can talk to each other. While there isn't a test associated with operating on the GMRS bands, you do need a licences. (no test/25 bucks/covers whole family for 5 yrs)

RideFlyDiveJeep

Rank VI
Launch Member

Advocate I

Shawnee, KS 66217, USA
First Name
Mark
Last Name
Peterson
Member #

I have that cb and I like it. Served me well for the past decade. I like that you get to have a handheld and an in cab unit in one. I keep the battery packs and the antenna dongle in the center console. Then when I need to hop out I pull the transceiver, and the battery and antenna to help with spotting. I am adding a GMRS unit to the vehicle to compliment my old heandhelds. -Dept. Of Redundancy Dept.

Prerunner1982

Local Expert, Oklahoma USA
Launch Member

Member III

Navina, Oklahoma
First Name
Jon
Last Name
B
Member #

I have a Midland MXT 115. GMRS that gives me greater range than a standard FRS handheld. I have the unit mounted in my Jeep and I also carry two handheld FRS/GMRS units so all three can talk to each other. While there isn't a test associated with operating on the GMRS bands, you do need a licences. (no test/25 bucks/covers whole family for 5 yrs)
Just an update..