I hate to ask but can someone dum down all this gps talk for some of us

• HTML tutorial

Dunewheeler12

Rank III

Traveler I

I’m new to the overlanding but not to off-roading id like to get out a explore more just looking for the easiest gps to use Ive been using navmii also have a stand alone basic garmin and have been happy with it but would like to learn and have a good back up plan in place

Thank

Reactions: Drifterman

James Deaton

Rank V

Pathfinder I

I use an iPad Air2, with Gaia mapping app. The iPad connects to a Bad Elf GPS PRO+ via bluetooth.

I mount the iPad over my factory radio when overlanding, and run music from the iPad into the factory radio.

I can also hotspot the iPad to my iPhone while driving to have internet access on the iPad while underway.

The Apple universe makes things pretty simple.

James

RootedWanderers

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate II

Pelham, Alabama 35124
First Name
Wayne
Last Name
Sullivan
Member #

I have a Samsung Tab S3 running Gaia mounted with Ram mounts mounted to a Vector Offroad edock bar on the dash. Extremely happy with it.
This isn't my Jeep but similar to the way I have it set up..I have a ram mount for my phone and one for my tablet. I will have one for my ham head once I get my mobile unit.

James Deaton

Rank V

Pathfinder I

My iPad is wifi only, so it doesn’t have a GPS chip inside, therefore I needed the Bad Elf GPS PRO + to connect to satellites.

The iPads with wifi and cellular have GPS chips inside them, but I am skeptical as to whether they are as good as a dedicated GPS receiver that costs $350... They may be though, I’ve just never tried one out off the grid to verify.

James

James Deaton

Rank V

Pathfinder I

If you buy the iPad new, they may require a data plan depending on the deal you get at the store.

If you buy the iPad used, no dataplan ia required.