How should I begin my build?

• HTML tutorial
I've got a 1989 Jeep Cherokee, which isn't usually turned into some awesome overland rig, but why not? It's all I've got. I'm just a 21 year old student! I'll attach a pic so you can see what I'm working with and what I have done so far. No interior mods as of yet, other than scanner, CB, wood dash, upgraded speakers, stereo, etc. No "overland" modifications! Lol. Got some rear body armor on the way, as well as some rock sliders. I've got plenty of light up front. LED headlights plus a 50'' curved lightbar, as well as the two 7-inch LEDs mounted to the bumper. Anybody have experience with Cherokees and have recommendations for roof racks, storage setups, etc?

Last edited by a moderator:

scubasteve2002

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate II

Colorado, USA
First Name
Steve
Last Name
Lap
Member #

Doesn't matter what you drive. As long as you make it work for your needs! :) We got guys using Imprezas, Kias, and many other kinds of vehicles.

If I remember correctly the owner of Expedition Portal or Overland Journal owns a Cherokee like yours. There are also a few other members here with the Cherokee!

But my biggest suggestion for you is make it as reliable as you can, get as much recovery gear as possible and make sure you practice using every piece of it. Because when the time comes you want to be very proficient at it.

The grand scheme of things though is build it to your needs. If you are a weekend warrior there is no real need for a RTT and other extreme pieces of kit like that. A cooler and camping gear will do. Overlanding isn't about the style of vehicle and trying to fit in.

Just get outfitted to what you need and get out there to explore! I know many other people will chime in! :)

TreXTerra

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate II

Salt Lake City, Utah
Member #