Dual Battery Placement Question

• HTML tutorial
Battery beginner here. I have an XJ which doesn't exactly have a lot of spare room under the hood. I've seen people who have removed the airbox and put a second battery there, but I have a snorkel and need the airbox where it is. Is it possible to have a second battery in the back of my rig? How would I go about using a dual battery setup like this? I can tinker around under the hood tomorrow and see what can be done, if anything. But, I think the battery would have to go elsewhere. Any ideas?

1Louder

Rank VI
Launch Member

Member II

AZ
First Name
Chris
Last Name
K
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
K1LDR
Hit up YouTube and Google. I know there are a few good kits out there. I don't own a Jeep so I can't provide better advice. I have seen some online video installs when looking at dual battery related products.

4xFar Adventures

Rank VI
Founder 500
Launch Member

Benefactor

San Francisco,CA
First Name
Brenton
Last Name
Corns
Member #

I've seen too many dual battery setup issues to justify having it. A solar panel and/or jumper pack is much simpler, cheaper and reliable. Find the largest battery you can fit in your battery box. Maybe you can make it larger. I can just fit a Group 31, though it did require extending the ground cable by a few inches, under the hood. I also used that as a chance to upgrade the cable terminals to a military style.

If you decide to run a dual setup, with one in the rear of the Jeep, you'll need to run some very large mamba jamba cable. What are your power needs off the second battery? Run your winch (if you have or plan to get one) from the main battery. If the controller craps out you won't have to rewire it to do a recovery. This happened at OTG this year. The winch was wired to the second battery, controller stopped charging and the winch couldn't be used.

No matter what you end up doing, just make sure the battery strap is nice and stronger and securely holds the battery in place.