NW_Traveler

Rank 0

Contributor I

Seattle, WA
First Name
Aaron
Last Name
Coldiron
Hi. I'm new to overlanding. Just picked up a Schutt XV-2 from the for sale section, and I'm excited to take it out. I was trying it out and drove off a small curb and the drop seemed like it put a lot of stress on my Jeep GC. I'm imagining being on a trail and dropping off small rocks or ledges and putting stress on the vehicle. Do you all just take it super slow on drops and bumps, or is there something I should add to the hitch to accommodate? Right now I have a max-coupler but that does nothing really for vertical drops or rises. Newbie questions I know. Thanks for helping me out!

ArkansasDon

Rank V
Launch Member

Member I

you will get different answers, as for me whether traveling down main wash board National Forest dirt roads, trails, creek crossings, I take it easy. I am in no hurry for the destination I am headed. For me it's all about slow & easy @ times crawling over exposed rocks , in & out of creek crossings through wash outs in the trails. I have a Lock n Roll coupler it seems to work fine for me. I put shocks on my trailer which seems to slow down the articulation of the leaf spring\axle movement on the trailer making the ride IMO much smoother. I also installed longer leaf springs 28" smooth ride leafs, longer springs give a better ride absorb bumps better by allowing more motion. You will have some state adjust the pressure in the tires will do the same. I run 40psi on my trailer at "all" times 235x75Rx15 General Grabbers ATX that are mounted on my trailer. Over all my suggestion is "slow & easy" our adventure should be enjoyable & our travels to remote destinations the journey is our primary goal at the same time enjoying the sights of our travels to our destination.
010.JPG

NW_Traveler

Rank 0

Contributor I

Seattle, WA
First Name
Aaron
Last Name
Coldiron