1st gen Taco build

• HTML tutorial

Boomer82

Rank IV
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Oklahoma
Figured it would be a good time to start a build thread since I just got started about a month ago...

By the way, this was all prompted by my own stupidity in my inability to provide enough stopping distance between my front end and the rear end of the clown car(Hyundai) in front of me which lightly damaged my brush guard, yet totaled said clown car as illustrated by the picture below(mine).
IMG_6375.JPG

This lead to me finally biting the bullet on that ARB bull bar I’ve been eyeballing for the last 15 years, a definite improvement...
IMG_6407.JPG

Debated on several vehicles for this purpose and ultimately decided to use my 04 double cab SR5 Tacoma for several reasons:

Pro’s
-already had one(haha)
-super light/durable truck
-engine bay more conducive to engine swaps than newer models
-love the profile and overall look of the 1st gen.
-tight, but ample room for family of 5
-only 130k total miles (engine rebuilt at 80k for project)
-interior is comfortable and still like new

Cons
- small truck, limits cargo capacity (~1400lbs)
-small fuel tank requiring further logistical support
-3.4L v6 doesn’t have the power
-still a 15 year old truck (parts/plastics are getting brittle)