1990 Yota Pickup - AverageTanner's Build

• HTML tutorial

AverageTanner

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast II

Dripping Springs
Member #

Still pretty new here, so I figured I'd let yall in on my build. I've been working on my rig for about 6 months now so I've got a lot to catch up on so I'll start from the beginning.

I bought a 1990 Toyota Pickup from my buddy who quit working on his 'project' in the middle of a SAS. When I bought it he had most of the parts to finish the SAS but didn't have the motivation because he had other toys taking up his time. The donor axle is from an '85 Yota and obviously the first thing I did was complete the swap. I'm terrible about taking pictures, and the pictures that I did take were lost on my old phone, so the oldest picture I have is right after the swap was complete and I painted the front bumper and grille.

Next step was trying to find a camper. I've always thought that commercial service campers would make a great camper for overlanding due to their storage potential, and I found a pretty used one in San Antonio, talked the guy down to $300, and threw it on my bed. Like I said, it's pretty beat up, but compared to a new A.R.E with the same options, I think I got it for about 1/10th the price and it fits pretty good (camper was made for a 95+ Taco). I got two keys for all the locks and both work, so can't complain about that either!

After I got the camper I started working on additional lighting on the back and making the toolboxes more functional for what I wanted. I got a tool chest from work that we were throwing away that fit perfectly in one of my side boxes with some slight modification. So after work one day I made it fit and organized my sockets/wrenches/other tools.