Watercraft and Overlanding

• HTML tutorial

IronPercheron

Rank VI
Launch Member

Pathfinder I

Sweeny Texas
Member #

Let me start by saying this should be, and will be a collaborative effort as i have limited knowledge compaired to some.

My vision is to contribute an article for reference for safe transport and use of watercraft. The obvious would be kayaks, canoes, and inflatables excetera...

Personal favorite has been a canoe because I like to take fishing gear with me, I am beginning to look closer at fishing kayaks and have spent some time in them but the Simplicity of a canoe in and of itself is beauty.

1477016393992.jpg

Here is Uncle Ruckus gussied up for a trip to the lake. This was the most effective way that I found in my ownership of both the vehicle in the canoe pool noodles did a great job of isolating friction areas and providing just enough durability to be slightly crushed by the pressure of the ratchet straps I can't say that I was ever impressed with the miles per gallon of this vehicle ever but I did not find any adversely noticeable differences.

This is a fine example of a crude application... ugly... but strong. Gorrilla style.

1477016577215.jpg

This is how I operate now that I have a family. I've actually been toying with the idea of a hybrid Adventure trailer and boat trailer all in one. After I get my roof top tent I will likely crack out the welder and stir up something a bit neckish... :-)

Towing a small Jon Boat ( smaller than mine preferably) is really no different than a decent Adventure trailer and I have on more than one occasion slept in this boat I have decked the floor and it's a nice flat area for an air mattress or something a little bit of 550 cord and a surplus Poncho later and you are in heaven.