USGI Magnesium Snowshoe Review

• Thread starter expeditionnorth
  • Start date
  • HTML tutorial
E

expeditionnorth

USGI Magnesium Snowshoe Review

OK so I could not find a review, however my searches never seem to yield the greatest results…So for xmas I got my father a pair of these USGI magnesium snowshoes. You see them on all sort of sites and places usually selling for around $40. I thought these would be the ideal gift, since he is a hunter and where we live we get lots of snow. He could not figure out how to install the bindings and was getting irritated. All is great until one looks at the instruction manual that is provided to properly install the bindings. I have never used these before, so I tried my hardest with the provided paperwork.. It is very lacking in all manners. So I found this site that helps one assemble the snowshoes properly I hope at: .http://www.ropeer.com/military-snowshoe-assembly-and-use/
It also appears from my research that the white bindings are about 30 years old and the newer black bindings are younger and much easier to use. The newer black bindings use snaps to fasten the foot into the snowshoe. I wish I knew this prior to the purchase. So Caveat emptor when buying yours.

I am really impressed with the build of these, the magnesium frames are so superlight and the cables I thought I read somewhere are stainless steel which seems almost indestructible. Here is a photo of them [after installing bindings] to show overall size etc.

In this photo I attempted to illustrate where the bindings attach. Both pairs on top of each other so it may be a bit confusing at first.

This photo shows how the must be laid out prior to installation. IMG]http://i685.photobucket.com/albums/vv217/aa1pr/USGI Magnesium Snowshoes/DSC_1486.jpg[/IMG]