Stock Toyota GPS Software Capability

• HTML tutorial

CDRice

Rank 0

Traveler I

I am new to this whole thing and have purchased a 2001 Toyota LC100 with navigation. Does anyone know about the capabilities and accuracy of the system. I am primarily wondering if the updated software (2016-current) might be enough to use for forest roads and generally major dirt roads you would find on a good quality roadmap? I know the system wont have full blown off road trails mapped out, but I don't need it for that.

CampWithChin

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate I

Lexington, MA
First Name
Alfred
Last Name
Chin
Member #

I am new to this whole thing and have purchased a 2001 Toyota LC100 with navigation. Does anyone know about the capabilities and accuracy of the system. I am primarily wondering if the updated software (2016-current) might be enough to use for forest roads and generally major dirt roads you would find on a good quality roadmap? I know the system wont have full blown off road trails mapped out, but I don't need it for that.
As my posted listed, OEM navigation system really suck big time.

For 2001 LC100 OEM navigation system, I think you can only get map update till 2014. 2001 Toyota LC100 has a toyota Gen 3 navigation system. Toyota stop providing update map after v13.1 (2014 update). My toyota (2010) has a Gen 6 navigation system. I can get up to the 2017 update. Currently, I'm using 2016 map. For normal highway within US, it's not too bad. Once you get out to Canada, there is no map data. I purchased a $150 Garmin with lifetime map update. Those device help me navigate through North America without any problem. I hope this help.

CDRice

Rank 0

Traveler I

As my posted listed, OEM navigation system really suck big time.