NinjaHippie

Rank II
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Casper, WY
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
N7RRB
Finally got to give the new Spot-X a workout on a recent trip. Here is the review I’ve been promising.

About me and my perspective in this review: I’m a 50 something geek. I’m a career IT pro and I’m a ham. I like gadgets and I build stuff. I travel with a dog in a 2006 Xterra with ~100k mi. In a nutshell, I like gadgets and am very technically capable and communications from the boonies is kinda important.

Executive summary:

Pros:

• Works as advertised. Tracking seemed to work well even inside the cab of my vehicle. Two way messaging works as advertised and “check in” function does what it says. Tracking compares favorably to APRS for the hams in the audience. I ran them parallel for part of the trip.

• Sat comm features worked even when it was inside (in the window) of my camper.

• Wide availability of plans available. (Carefully read what they offer when choosing one - there are differences besides the payment schedule.)

• Awesome SOV “Save our Vehicle” plan that is not available on the Garmin devices.

• Great worldwide coverage.

• Good website.

• Texting from the wilderness - Awesome!

Cons:

• Device is clunky and physically fragile despite it’s appearance and claim of IPX certification.

• Not usable out of the box.

• Need to use a computer (Windows or Mac only *see my rant at the end) in order to set up and make configuration changes.

• Won’t stand on it’s own even though the best antenna orientation is vertical.

In short this device delivers what is advertised. Everything I was able to test worked. I thankfully did not need to use the SOS feature or SOV feature but I have no doubt they will work very, very well. It has however been the most singularly frustrating piece of technology I’ve had in many years. More on that later.