Snake Shot: Do you use it for your trail/camp gun when overlanding?

• HTML tutorial

Desert Runner

Rank VII
Launch Member

Expedition Master III

Southern Nevada
First Name
Jerold
Last Name
F.
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
/GMRS=WREA307
Since I first posted this question, I had never seen one around my Sister & BIL's place in the mountains (25 years), but I was aware they might be around. Also this was most peoples experience up there in the mountains (Southern UT). Well it seems that 2 weeks ago, my sister while ATV riding just a little bit past their property, spotted a snake. Upon inspection by others, they determined it was a MOJAVE GREEN. Now I'm no expert, but Southern UT seems a little bit out of their range. They are now around Southern NV, and are known to be more aggressive than your standard rattler.

What makes this concerning is the amount of kids and dogs that roam around when family's go up into the area. It seems the next day, a second one was spotted on the same section of road nearby. I usually bring a pistol, as 2 legged are more of a concern, than 4 legged critters. But I think I will move into the revolver camp, so I have the 'snake-shot' option available. :fearful:

To go from not seeing any, to 2 in 2 days' and both in close approximation makes me think a nest might now be in the area. The odds just seem high. And of course not being something seen, if ever, no one wears chaps or specialty footwear like you have to in certain areas of the country if your being prudent. On the mountain, it;s jeans or most likely just shorts and sneakers. We have another 2.5 months of warm weather to see if indeed this has become a problem. STAY SAFE.

PS. My 'snake-shot' will be in the 38 cal. variety. A little more lead than the 22 LR version :grinning:

Last edited:

Sasquatch SC

Rank VI
Launch Member

Member III

Jefferson County, Colorado, United States
First Name
Trey
Last Name
Hayes
Member #