Byronscout80

Rank 0

Contributor I

Oregon, USA
First Name
Byron
Last Name
Sanders
Hi all, new member here. Im new to overlanding, fairly familiar with "wheeling" I'm excited to get into this because it's something my wife and I can both be apart of.
The rig is a 1980 IH scout II. I swapped in a 7 3 Idi NA.
It has so much torque at low rpm I am excited its in the rig.
It has a factory t-19/ dana 300 TC.
Dana 44 front and rear with a rebuilt powr-lok limited slip in the rear and open front. Axles rebuilt, transfer case rebuilt, engine was resealed and painted. New IP and injectors. I have minor things to do to finish the swap but it is now driving.

I'm looking to add a winch bumper in the front with skid plates, beef up the axles. I'm starting this thread to get ideas from other people who overland in "old iron" sometimes I would love something newer but Its always fun doing it retro. 20200119_152457.jpg20200119_152448.jpg

M Rose

Local Expert
Mod Team

Advocate III

Northeast Oregon, United States
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Rose
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
W7FSB
Service Branch
US ARMY Retired
Out near sweet home, only a short 7hr drive away! Lol. I love the LaGrande area, very beautiful.
I love Sweet Home area as well. I used to bale hay as a kid along I5 from Albany to Eugene, mostly around Brownsville and Sweet Home though. We camped out several times in the fields up there as our base camp was near Junction City.

Byronscout80

Rank 0

Contributor I

Oregon, USA
First Name
Byron
Last Name
Sanders
I love Sweet Home area as well. I used to bale hay as a kid along I5 from Albany to Eugene, mostly around Brownsville and Sweet Home though. We camped out several times in the fields up there as our base camp was near Junction City.
That's the only thing I dislike, I can handle all this rain but when the hay is cut its game over for me! Lol

Lanlubber In Remembrance

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Mimbres, NM, USA
First Name
Jim
Last Name
covey sr
Member #