Rules & Tips for Rooftop Tenting

• HTML tutorial

Pebody1013

Rank 0

Contributor I

Hi Everyone,

I am new to overlanding and this is my very first post! My wife and I live in Chicago and we are planning an epic summer trip to the Pacific Northwest and then up to Alaska. Total trip estimate is 6 weeks. We are looking into rooftop tents and are excited for our adventures to come.

My question is about the etiquette/rules/laws of when and where you can pop open your rooftop tent and settle down for the night. In remote areas, can we simply find a secluded place to pull off the road and bed down? In state/national parks what are the rules about pulling off to the side of a 4x4 trail for the night vs. needing to stay only in established campgrounds? How do you use your tent in slightly more populated locations?

Any advice or experience you could lend me about this would really help our trip planning. We love the idea of just driving and camping wherever the road takes us. We would be bummed if most of our nights were spent in crowded campgrounds listening to the calming sounds of public toilets and blaring radios. Having never planned an overland trip, I don't really even know where to go to get help with this, so thanks for your help!

Reactions: Michael

NorthStar96

Rank V
Founder 500
Launch Member

Advocate II

Wow! that's a trip and a half! Isn't it like 1500 miles one way from Washington to AK?
I would recommend bringing spares for everything. Starter, alternator, belts hoses...etc. Alaska is Big country. Could you just imagine a Griz attacking you as you change a flat tire? That would be the trip of a lifetime.
There is a Series on TV that is Called Expedition Overland. It's about a group going to Alaska in their Toyotas and the Trials and Tribulations of such a trip. Heres a link to episode 1 season 1.

I hope this helps you with some of your questions..

TxTerra

Rank V
Founder 500
Launch Member

Influencer II

prosper, tx
Member #