Enthusiast I

Phoenix, AZ, USA
First Name
TIM
Last Name
BARRETT
Member #

Warning: I'm a newbie!

I've been researching roof racks and I've noticed they have load ratings that vary wildly. Specifically, Eezi-Awn K9 claims 500lbs dynamic and 1000 lbs static, which seems sufficient to put a roof top tent with my wife and I in it and maybe a kid or two (I have four!) And some misc gear, however this is substantially higher than those claimed by others. The Gobi, which I really like as well claims 300 dynamic and 600 static, which seems tight. Others I've seen are even less. Does this not mean what I think it does?

HKLover

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Ohio/Tenn
First Name
John
Last Name
Shanower
Member #

Each roof rack manufacturer has different ratings for their racks because they make them with different materials and use different designs. A roof rack made by one manufacturer that can fit multiple vehicles using different mounting systems may also have different weight ratings depending on how and where it mounts on a specific vehicle. There are many variables that companies use when placing or stating a rating for a given system. Not all will or should be the same.

Good luck in your search.

Jeff B

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Putnam County, New York, USA
Member #

You are right with your thoughts. The racks do have varying weight limits and many people do overload those weight limits. As long as you stay in the gvwr and the load capacity for the vehicle and the load capacity for any racks added to it you should be ok. Now this doesn't mean it won't make a vehicle top heavy, which it could.

Reactions: Tim Barrett

bmwguru

Rank V
Launch Member

Influencer I

Indianapolis, IN, USA
First Name
Jim
Last Name
Pickrell
Member #