rwade

Rank I

Enthusiast I

Frenchtown, NJ, USA
First Name
Robert
Last Name
Fakelmann
So, i am new here and i assume there are multiple threads on this subject, but I'm still learning to navigate site, and i apologize in advance if this is a wore out subject.

I consider myself a DIY type guy, i much rather build my own then purchase.. I am looking to start a slide out kitchen/storage system in a Jeep TJ and hopefully soon in a larger overlander i plan to purchase this winter, and i am unsure best materials to use.

Here are my ideas:

- Foam board wrapped with Canvas (foam board for Compression strength and Canvas glued for tensile strength, very reasonable and extremely lite)
- 1/2" or 3/4' Marine grade birch, with a heavy sealer for moisture protection (simple and reasonable, but relatively heavy)
- 1/2" or 3/4" PVC Veranda boards ( very expensive and will require additional bracing, but 100% moisture proof)

Looking to get other more experienced to overlanding thoughts and opinions?

Again, if its been brought up a bunch and i missed it, i apologize.

Thanks!

Reactions: 9Mike2

Pathfinder I

Canada
First Name
Craig
Last Name
PereferNotToSay
Is your plan for your panels to support any loads, or are you just looking for flat surfaces to attach to a frame?

A lot of folks will use 1/2" plywood. If it's inside, even a few coats of Verathane will make it weather resistant enough to last longer than the car it's in. I built mine this way using a Kreg Jig, so the boards in this example were both the structure (providing strength to the box) and the flat surfaces. The downside is it was heavy.