PSI Recommendations

• HTML tutorial

Ranger Explorer

Rank I
Launch Member

Traveler I

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Member #

I'm a newbie to this form and a newbie overlander. Most of the trails I explore are a combination of lose mud, dirt and really rough gravel and rocks (also deep snow). I am sure this is an over asked question, but I am looking for psi advice/recommendations. I am running 32 x 11.5 BFGK02's on Pro Comp steelies that are 15x8. I've heard anywhere from 18-24 psi can be a good for gravel roads, but any advice would be greatly appreciated!

F4T XJ

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate II

London, United Kingdom
First Name
Paul
Last Name
Savage
Member #

What is you are trying to achieve, is the vehicle fully loaded? For fast gravel I run 20 in the front and 22 in the rear. When it gets tough I just keep dropping

Reactions: Ranger Explorer

The other Sean

Rank V
Launch Member

Pathfinder I

Minneapolis
Member #

There is no one answer. When I'm going to be on easy gravel roads with the occasional paved section, I only air down to 25, more for smoother ride. If I know I'll be in some light stuff, I'll go to 20. if it is going to get more involved, I'll drop down a couple of pounds more.

Ranger Explorer

Rank I
Launch Member

Traveler I

Member #

What is you are trying to achieve, is the vehicle fully loaded? For fast gravel I run 20 in the front and 22 in the rear. When it gets tough I just keep dropping
Mostly better ride quality and to avoid tire puncture. Not so much worried about getting stuck. Loaded with some gear yes, but its a 1/4 ton truck so not that heavy in the rear to begin with.

Ranger Explorer

Rank I
Launch Member

Traveler I

Member #

There is no one answer. When I'm going to be on easy gravel roads with the occasional paved section, I only air down to 25, more for smoother ride. If I know I'll be in some light stuff, I'll go to 20. if it is going to get more involved, I'll drop down a couple of pounds more.