Overland Bound Map in off-line use?

• Hi Guest, you may choose a LIGHT or DARK theme that works best for you with the "Style Chooser" button at the bottom left on this page!
  • HTML tutorial

Mustang03

Rank V
Adventure

Contributor III

Green Valley, AZ
First Name
Bryan
Last Name
Lavender
Member #

Ham Callsign
KE5ATG
Service Branch
U.S. Marine Corps
Did not take long to decide that the map included in the Overland Bound tablet app is really all I need for land nav. I have a Dual XGPS160 which gives my non-gps tablet all the gps capability it needs. I assume the map app requires an internet connection to function? Any thoughts that this might become an off-line-capable app? ("scuze me if this has been discussed before - I tried a number of search term combinations without any success.)

Reactions: Prerunner1982

DaPyrate

Rank IV

Advocate III

Hamilton, Ohio
First Name
John
Last Name
Gill
Member #

Ham Callsign
KE8PBK
I'm not a developer but do work in IT. It looks like the map works with Google geocoding which uses a API to access google geocoordinates via their cloud. Now if there is someway to save that information returned from the OB1 to a google map I don't know but as of right now it doesn't look like it. Again, I'm not a developer but that is just my assumption.

DaPyrate

Rank IV

Advocate III

Hamilton, Ohio
First Name
John
Last Name
Gill
Member #

Ham Callsign
KE8PBK
Looks like there is a way but you will need the Expedition Tier of the app.

M Rose

US Northwest Region Director
Benefactor

Explorer I

La Grande, Oregon, USA
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Rose
Member #

Ham Callsign
KJ7MFV
Service Branch
US ARMY