Rank II

Enthusiast II

Washington, USA
First Name
Grayson
Last Name
Hjaltalin
Hey OB,

I am relatively new to exploring the PNW after moving here from N. California. My wife, daughter and I just got our Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk a few months ago and are ready to start bookmarking some locations for the upcoming year.

With the snow season coming, I am sure a lot of trails and camping locations are closed. We are a snowboard/ski family so we are excited to start heading up to Stevens Pass and such. But as the new year comes and the sun starts to come out does anybody have any thoughts, advice, maps, etc to check out? We are open to just about anything. My daughter (7 years old) said to me that she wants to start fishing this summer so, that will be a part of the new adventures.

The first week we got the Trailhawk we took a drive up around Spada Lake just to get a feel for the car. I was able to throw it into 4Low with the dealer plate still on lol. No major mods or anything at the moment, besides a roof rack for the snowboards. We wanted to take a trip through Stampede Pass but the weather beat us to it and we drive alone so I didn't feel 100% safe without having the proper gear with us with the kiddo. I also was looking in Naches Trail? It seems like a fun ride with some bigger tires and better clearance. Other than that I can't really get a good map route on Gaia or AllTrails. So I figured I would just start asking around and maybe make a few friends along the way.

Oh, another thing is that we are going to try and make our way through the 90 and over to Couer d'Alene Idaho and Whitefish Montana at the end of February. Any advice on that would be 100% helpful! I am a little nervous about the winter weather as this will be our first experience heading east like that.

Thanks in advance for any ideas and thoughts!

M Rose

Local Expert
Mod Team

Advocate III

Northeast Oregon, United States
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Rose
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
W7FSB