Zürich, Switzerland
First Name
Tim
Last Name
Roos
Member #

Hey community

just taking this as a starter to quickly introduce myself

My name is Tim and I'm an outdoor loving Jeep driver.
I'm living in the SW of Germany at Lake Constance and close to Black-Forest.
I'm an engineer working at automotive manufacturer HQ in Zurich, Switzerland.
Touring and exploring offroad is just the perfect way to take a break from everyday things to me.
After a good nice weekend mini-expedition I feel recharged and back on the game again.
But I also enjoy bigger trips that go out for a couple days to weeks.

The thing is, I just love being outside in the woods or an a trail with my Jeep, my girlfriend and/or a good friend on my side and go out to explore.
I try to do this as much as I can and that's why my family and especially my younger brothers are already joking and calling me the expeditionist :D but that's fine - that's what I love doing - and sometimes it's just a Jeep thing :D

Just by mistake I stumbled on OB - I was actually watching a youtube vid from OB2459, where I saw this little OB batch on his back.
And as curious as I'am, I immediately checked this out and had to say that this bound follows same principles as I do.

I hope to find good inspiration for my second Jeep for building an overlanding vehicle.
Doesn't have to be overkill with all sorts of fancy gear on but to get the best compromise - also with regulatory institutions in mind here in Germany where certain limits on builds have to be kept...!
Right now I'm driving a 2007 Jeep Commander Limited with the 3.0 Mercedes Diesel.
It's intended to put on an OME 2" lift Suspension, PMR and CB Radio, auxilary lights and other electrics, beefier tyres, some underbody guards and of course a roof rack... the list is long, wallet small
In parallel I'm planning on an offroad "activity trailer" build, where I intend to put all the outdoor gear (2 MTB, 2 kayaks, some storage, cooking place, ...., and a rooftop tent on.