New England Area Trail Rides / Car Camping

• Hi Guest, you may choose a LIGHT or DARK theme that works best for you with the "Style Chooser" button at the bottom left on this page!
I’m new to the East coast, currently bouncing from Massachusetts to NH while I’m in the Navy. I have come to realize that expansive trails and open fire roads are harder to come by in New England than anywhere I’m used to in the west.

Realistically, how far would I have to drive to get to an area with longer trails, places to camp, and getting a decent distance away from “civilization”? I don’t even know where to look. Any suggestions? If New England itself doesn’t offer such things, how far would I have to go to find these things?

4RunneRUS

Rank II

Contributor I

Boston, MA, USA
Member #

Looks like not many people from New England here.... I was trying to find trails or open roads in Mass, nothing... But there is few trails in NH. Check this site Home - ExploringNH. I didn't go there yet, but let me know if you find something interestin in Mass or NH)

Baystate4Runner

Rank II

Member I

Westwood, MA
Member #

There are some trails and roads in western Mass but you are better off in NH (class VI roads) and northern Maine to get away from civilization.
My favorite area: north of Moosehead Lake in Maine.

Reactions: Road

4RunneRUS

Rank II

Contributor I

Boston, MA, USA
Member #

Thank you! Also I heard about trail in Kingston, MA. But guy told me that there are too many trees right next to the road and you can scratch you vehicle. I just bought my 2018 4Runner SR5 few months ago, I don’t wanna scratch it))
This trails at Mooshead lake are open or you need a permit? I’m new, everything is stock on a car, only put KO2 tires on it. I was at Race Point Beach, not much off road, but it was fun to drive on sand beaches!

Baystate4Runner

Rank II

Member I

Westwood, MA
Member #