Launch Member

Enthusiast II

La Quinta, CA, USA
First Name
Steve
Last Name
Corney
Member #

Hey all I’m looking to get more into overlanding and less dual sport. Getting to old for the spills.
I have a 2014 mega cab 4x that’s stock and has done everything I needed up until now.
I’m thinking even if I start adding to this truck it’s just to big to really have fun with and I don’t want to drop 10k in goodies to still not getout of some tricky trails. Im thinking of 3 rigs
The Tacoma pro: pros it’s already trail ready after a rack and add my tent
Con it’s going to be hard going from a mega cab to a trunda for room for my kid on trips. She’s not into the trails but just for everyday running around it’s been good
Next a 4Runner pro more room for the wife and kid con no bed
Lastly I’ve found 2 power wagons that might fit the bill the pro is they’re loaded and the family won’t get to cramped the con is the size and keeping up with the smaller rigs.
looking for opinions I’m new to overlanding so I’m not looking to get into really tricky trails yet but I’d like something I can grow into.

Reactions: Magic Mike

MMc

Rank V

Influencer II

San Dimas, Ca.
First Name
Mike
Last Name
McMullen
Member #

Welcome from San Dimas. Just go with what you have, overlanding is about getting out. If you want to spend time and money building go ahead. I would rather take a drive and see something new. Your taco will get you most places. A stove, ice chest tent and a sleeping bag will get you started. Bring a couple of bikes to get where you can't with the Taco, not many BTY. I have a big ol' truck and it get me most places I want to go. Yes, it gets some desert pinstripes.
If you want to wheel hard, it is costly! Join a club and learn how to do it right.

Reactions: MtnManAlex

1derer

Rank V
Launch Member

Traveler II

Carlsbad, CA, USA
First Name
user
Last Name
name
Member #

Hey all I’m looking to get more into overlanding and less dual sport. Getting to old for the spills.