Vacaville, CA, USA
First Name
Richard
Last Name
Kroll
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6NRI
Any Ham radio experts out there? I'm a Ham rookie, and need some guidance. I'm looking for a Moblie Ham for my 4Runner. I know this can turn into a deep rabbit hole... BUT...
I'm looking for something with a detachable control head, and preferably one that has the option to plug the microphone into the control head.
I'll be mounting the base either under the passenger seat or in the rear quarter panel area, so I'll need a good compatible small external speaker to mount to the dash as well.
I'm also trying to keep the overall footprint of the control head and speaker to a minimum up on the dash.
2m & 70cm capable.
True dual band/VFO.
I'd like to future proof this, for when my Ham skills improve, so digital is preferred? I think?

By front runners so far are:
Kenwood TM-D710GA
Yaesu FTM-300DR
Yaesu FTM-400XDR
Icom IC-2730A (for its simplicity and option to plug the mic into the controller)

Open to any and all advice.

Thanks,
Rick

Reactions: RMCM and runnerbear

DRAX

Rank V

Advocate I

Monticello, IL
First Name
Hogan
Last Name
Whittall
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
W9DRX
I'm partial to the FTM-400XDR, the display and touch screen work great. Makes navigating and reassigning soft buttons really easy. Beyond that, you need to decide if there are any digital modes that you want to use (based on repeaters in your area, etc), if you want to use APRS, etc. The Icom unit is relatively featureless in those areas. No APRS, no digital modes. There are higher-end Icom units that do have D-STAR and even touch screens but no APRS. I actually use APRS quite a bit and have used it in Colorado to send and receive SMS messages when I had no cell signal.

The Kenwood and Yaesu units listed both do APRS. The Yaesu also have System Fusion/Wires-X digital modes, but if you have no repeaters nearby or nobody else using the Yaesu digital modes then that would be of no use to you.