Launch Member

Enthusiast II

Cartersville, GA, USA
First Name
Dan
Last Name
Proctor
Member #

So I have the paid Gaia maps, which has its uses and is nice to reference, but I would like to have something on tap that I can just open up, pick out a trail somewhere and start heading that way. For that thought, this Magellan seems to be the ticket! Has anyone had personal experience with this unit? I’m really close to just pulling the trigger on it. I’m still new to finding legal trails to get lost on, and in the south-east, trails aren’t as abundant as the west.

*p.s. I tried to find the search function, but I’m on the app and didn’t seem to notice it anywhere. Sorry if this has been beaten to death.

Charles M

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Wickenburg, AZ, USA
First Name
Charles
Last Name
M
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
K1CJM
I did not have the TRX7 but, I will never buy Magellen again... I had another magellen for a few years (with lifetime maps) and was prompted to update the maps the unit was working fine it was just missing some new roads. So, I went to Magellens site downloaded the update software and proceeded to update it... The update was simple just a few clicks with a mouse and done.

After it said update was completed I tried to turn on the GPS and it would not start. I tried everything and emailed Magellen and didn't get a response at first. Weeks later they responded with sorry your update must have been corrupted there is nothing we can do about it. In other words sorry about your luck. The update was preformed by their program you down load you click a few prompts and it's done... Or DEAD...

At this point I decide to do a search on the update and found there were tons of people who had the exact same thing happen to them... Do the update and it completely stopped working and no help from magellen. customrer service .

I spent weeks trying to resolve the problem I fanally just tossed it and got a Garmin...

Reactions: DMS1

1Louder

Rank VI