Looking for other participants for August in Ouray/Telluride, Rimrocker Trail, and Moab

• HTML tutorial

NJRadioGuy

Rank V

Influencer II

West Caldwell, NJ, USA
First Name
Peter
Last Name
Dougherty
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
W2IRT
Anybody up for some wheeling and overlanding in the San Juans, along the Rimrocker Trail, and some of the more famous trails in Moab? Ideally I'm looking to partner up with one or two OB community members with some serious experience, since I'm extremely new to Overlanding in a way beyond simple weekend car camping situations. I'm comfortable off-road and primitive camping, and my Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk is very well equipped and ready. But to be honest, I don't have the experience and skills to pull this off solo, and it's a very hard no from my wife to doing this on our own.

I've watched a ton of videos, and we've been to Ouray a few years ago—and as passengers down Black Bear Pass and across Imogene and Yankee Boy, but I never drove those roads on my own and it's one of my life's ambitions to do so. So basically I have a very good idea of what I'm getting into and I know I'd be comfortable doing it, but to have one or two more experienced folks around in case we get in over our heads is the missing piece that I'm looking for.

I can go anytime in August, but we must be back home in New Jersey by 8/30 for an immovable Jury Duty summons for my wife.

My goals for this trip are to do Engineer Pass, Ophir, the Alpine Loop, Imogene, Poughkeepsie (or as much of it as my rig can handle), maybe Black Bear (only if I can go out with a highly experienced guide/spotter), and maybe some of the other lesser-known but equally scenic trails. I'm thinking 4 or 5 days, maybe? I'm good camping out or going back to a motel/hotel in the Ouray area for this. Next up, the Rimrocker Trail, east to west, with one or two nights overlanding, taking it slow and doing it right.