Lets See Your Solar Setups For Camping

• HTML tutorial

Corey

Rank V
Launch Member

Influencer I

Auburn, WA.
Member #

I have gone with a few 100 watt solar panels, and I just upgraded yesterday.
I have upgraded again, I took possession of the Overland Solar 120 watt folding one yesterday.
Owner Brian drove to my home and hand delivered it too, as he was on this side of the mountains, very cool.
He dropped by yesterday around 4 PM, and I tore into it to check it out, and read the paper work on it.

I have been using the Renogy 100 watt Suitcase one for a few years, but this one is a lot more efficient, and higher wattage output.
With the Renogy there are lines on the glass, there are no lines on the SunPower crystals of the Overland Solar setup, thus letting in more sunlight.
The case and panel itself are smaller than the Renogy, so my FJ will be happier not feeling so bloated inside when loaded up for a trip.

This comes stock with the red colored Anderson plugs, but my cable that goes from the 2nd battery in my dual battery setup has the gray Anderson SB50 plugs on it, so Brian swapped out the red ones Friday night before dropping it off to me on Saturday.
I had also bought a 30' extension from him earlier in the year, and he also had swapped it over to the gray ones.
It also comes with a short cable with Anderson plugs and alligator clips if your rig is not setup like mine with the hard wired cable (he carries these too) from the battery to my ARB bumper in which to plug in the solar panel.

I have heard nothing but great things about Brian's company, and the reviews over on his site are from some very happy customers.
My Renogy is pretty much sold already to a member/moderator over on my forum YotaTech, he should get many years out of it.
I am using a solar panel primarily to keep the Optima Yellowtop topped off as it runs the National Luna Weekender 50 Twin Fridge/Freezer.

Links:

Overland Solar

120 watt model

Pics: