LED Vs Halogen For Driving Lights

• HTML tutorial

Kevtd

Rank 0

Contributor II

What are peoples thoughts on LED spots for off road lights? I am a big beliver in having a second light source on any rig since not only for making driving at night better but safety as well. (I have had to drive out on one single fog light once, luckily the Pajero had 7" "fogs")
I have always seen LED as area/wide light and halogen as distance light but since im starting to see more and more LED spots on rigs and am planning out my lighting currently I thought I would ask.

Does anyone use LED for spot/driving lighting? Does it hold up against the old school stuff?
Personaly i am torn right now between classic Hella 500's or trying an LED solution.

7mmremmag

Rank III

Advocate II

Youngsville, PA, USA
Member #

I may be wrong as I am not an expert, but the spot versus flood thing seems to be a function of the way the housing inside is designed to reflect, not the actual bulb or bulb type.

That said, I prefer LED's, mostly for longevity.

Kevtd

Rank 0

Contributor II

I may be wrong as I am not an expert, but the spot versus flood thing seems to be a function of the way the housing inside is designed to reflect, not the actual bulb or bulb type.

That said, I prefer LED's, mostly for longevity.
As far as I know you are correct, however I have always found LED lights to have very little reach comparably speaking. But I would rather use one for the durability, life span and lower power draw. Been looking at these.

The problem is that i know the hellas are good and I wont have to rig up a cover (they come with one)

Renegade

Rank IV

Enthusiast III

Texas
Does anyone use LED for spot/driving lighting? Does it hold up against the old school stuff?
Personaly i am torn right now between classic Hella 500's or trying an LED solution.