I have a 4Runner but it is not 4x4, how much can I do?

• HTML tutorial

EJR

Rank II
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Sugar Land, TX, USA
First Name
Edgar
Last Name
Rodriguez
Member #

Hello everyone, I am new in this world and I am going to ask for all the help that I can give.

I have a 4Runner but it is not 4x4, how much can I do?

Reactions: OtherOrb

Green Boot Adventures

Rank IV
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Columbus, GA, USA
First Name
Connor
Last Name
Alexander
Member #

Honestly, a lot more than you could probably imagine. I had an older 4Runner a while back that wouldn't engage into 4WD and ended up doing trails I probably shouldn't have done 1) by myself and 2) with a vehicle incapable of shifting into 4WD, but was honestly impressed with how well it did. As it goes for any time of wheeling, going with someone with experience or capable of pulling you out is ideal.

There's plenty of folks on Overland Bound that are more than happy to assist with any questions you may have but definitely take a look and see if any questions you may ask have already been discussed in the forums.

Connor

Reactions: Retinens803 and EJR

OtherOrb

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Flagstaff, AZ
First Name
Moses
Last Name
H
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KE7QIF
While we spend a lot of time talking about the gear, you really only need the following things to truly overland:
1) The desire.
2) The time.
3) Some food and water.
4) Some kind of transportation (feet, beast, or mechanical)
5) A place to go.
6) Some kind of shelter for when you get there.

That's an extreme simplification, of course, but we see bicyclists along I40 all the time. We see hitchikers crossing the country all the time. We see a hundreds of people on foot, traveling 2500 miles trying to escape war and oppression.

It's not about the gear, it's about getting out there and taking those first steps.