First Name
Bjoern
Last Name
Eldracher
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
DO3BE
Hi community!

I am just in the process to get my HAM license. Currently using CB in my overlanding rig, but want a proper comm for longer distances...

Looking at mobile HAM radios, there are some which do not have a fan but just cooling fins. I was thinking that this might be a good idea with regard to sand and dust. On the other hand this might cause overheating issues?! I tend to get a radio with removable head unit to mount the radio itself somewhere under the seat where it does not eat useful space and is far away from other electronics like the ECU. All of the radios with removable head unit I found so far have fans.

I am new to this. What is your experience, please? Is sand and dust a real problem for the radios?

Thank you! :smiley:

Safe travels,
Bjoern

Reactions: Prerunner1982

Prerunner1982

Local Expert, Oklahoma USA
Launch Member

Member III

Navina, Oklahoma
First Name
Jon
Last Name
B
Member #

All 3 of the ham radios that reside in my Jeep have fans.
I live in the country and drive dirt roads daily and even when parked dust settles in/on the Jeep.
The current Jeep also does not have air conditioning.
My oldest two radios (Yaesu FT-8800 & Kenwood TS-480) has been chugging along for the last 5 & 6 years in this type of environment with no problem.
My other radio is only a couple of years old or so. Sometimes it's cooling fan kicks on/off about every 10 seconds, however this seems to be a common issue with this radio (Yaesu FTM-3100/3200) and not indicative of the environment.
I typically do not hear the fans when they kick on though they are pretty quiet (the ftm-3100 seems to have the loudest fan)...if they kick on at all.

Good luck in your quest for better comms.

Downs

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Hunt County Texas
First Name
Joshua
Last Name
Downs
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KK6RBI / WQYH678
Service Branch
USMC 03-16, FIRE/EMS