Launch Member

Influencer II

Gießen Germany
First Name
Mathias
Last Name
Kreicker
Member #

Hello, did a forum search two times but couldn't find anything helpful, if I missed the thread, just post a link.

My question... What fridge size do you recommend going for shorter trips around 5 days with 2 people? We are cooking fresh 1 time a day and possibly restock every 3 day.

I'm currently planning a whole new setup and just asking what size of fridge I should buy...
I'm thinking about 40L volume wich is close to 9 gallon ?

Thanks

Last edited:

soonersfan

Rank V
Launch Member

Off-Road Ranger I

Oklahoma City, OK
First Name
Phillip
Last Name
McIntosh
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KG5LTZ
I am no expert here but my thinking would be buy the biggest one that you can accommodate in your rig. IMO they are too expensive to own multiple sizes, so you might as well max your capacity in case you do longer trips. I don't think the energy draw is dramatically different between sizes.

MazeVX

Rank VI
Launch Member

Influencer II

Gießen Germany
First Name
Mathias
Last Name
Kreicker
Member #

The energy draw is quite the same once they cooled down and that's no big thing, we not staying for a long time so the aux batt is charged every 1-2 days.
Price is a big factor, but in fact, limited space is the biggest problem...

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate II

No
Member #

I switched from coolers to the fridge a couple years ago. I went from a 75qt yeti to the 43 qt edgestar fridge and found that it holds about the same amount of stuff since ice isn’t taking up room. With either I always have brought a 20qt yeti roadie or 30qt hopper or both for beers since it’s portable and easy to keep nearby at the campfire and it gets opened a lot. This combination has worked out pretty good for me. The 63 qt would hold everything, but if I’m not hanging out right by the truck it sucks to constantly have to go to the truck and open the fridge every time someone wants something to drink.