Essential gear that you would choose for a first overland trip?

• HTML tutorial

Traveler I

Hello, I am new to overlanding and this is my first post. I am starting to build up my rig (Jeep JKU '15). This summer I plan on taking my first overland trip out West. I plan on following light off road trails but who knows what I may get into.

I don't have access to all the bells and whistles right now since I am new and it's going to take time to get all the ideal upgrades and accessories. So my question is what are the first things you would upgrade or what gear could you not overland without?

I plan on upgrading my tires to All Terrain tires (probably BF Goodrich) and am getting a roof top tent (I know it's not a necessity but RTTs are what drew me into overlanding so it is something I want to get first). Other considerations are a front bumper and winch.

Let me know what you think, thanks!

1Louder

Rank VI
Launch Member

Member II

AZ
First Name
Chris
Last Name
K
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
K1LDR
1. Common sense
2. If you don't have common sense read up on how to get it! :)
3. A way to communicate without cell phone if an emergency ever arises.
4. A way to cook food. It could be a $9 stove or $900. Buy what your budget can afford
5. A way to store water. More than you think you will ever need. If you get stuck at least you will have plenty of water.
6. Basic tool kit
7. Basic recovery emergency gear. (Recovery straps, crowbar, tire repair kit, compressor, glow sticks, powerful flashlight, whistle, solar blankets)
8. Basic first aid kit
9. Maps and GPS. Know where you are, where you were going, if you get lost a way to turn around and backtrack.