Livermore, California, United States
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Murguia
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KM6YSL
Michael submitted a new blog post on the main site!

Do You NEED Lockers for Overlanding?

https://www.overlandbound.com/wp-content/upload...
[URL='https://www.overlandbound.com/need-lockers-overlanding/']Continue reading the Original Blog Post.[/URL]

Last edited:

Lassen

Rank V

Member III

Great article, Michael! And especially enjoy the technical aspects of a drivetrain. Driving a Jeep GC with QuadraDrive II, I just flip a little lever and the computer decides whether to lock or not for me. As a novice, I like that, but I really like knowing what is happening!

As for needing lockers or not, I couldn't agree more! It's not a requirement. When I was a kid, I remember my dad saying "I can go anywhere a 4 wheel drive vehicle can go." While that statement might not be entirely true, I realized later that he was referring to skill as a driver and creativity in figuring out how to pass/get through challenging obstacles. This is the area I need work in -- how to drive obstacles. I'd like to get to an OHV park to practice, but after reading someone saying they got held up behind someone that got stuck on an obstacle, well, I don't want to be "that guy!"

Michael

Rank IX
Staff member
Founder 500

Benefactor

Livermore, California, United States
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Murguia
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KM6YSL
Great article, Michael! And especially enjoy the technical aspects of a drivetrain. Driving a Jeep GC with QuadraDrive II, I just flip a little lever and the computer decides whether to lock or not for me. As a novice, I like that, but I really like knowing what is happening!