Rank VI

Member III

Hunt county, TX, USA
First Name
Justin
Last Name
Davis
Member #

Is there anyone on here in the dfw area that has a mig welder that can do my rock sliders? Ill have all the tubes pre bent but my welder is a flux core and i dont trust its welds on something structural like this. I can tack everything where i want it if that helps. I prefer someone who welds for a living but if you can stack dimes we can talk. Let me know availability and price, and location in private message.

Id prefer east dfw if possible or if anyone has a trusted welder they can guide me to that would work too.

Last edited:

Boostpowered

Rank VI

Member III

Hunt county, TX, USA
First Name
Justin
Last Name
Davis
Member #

I see people on craigslist advertising their services all the tme. Might be an option....
Nah i dont want to be murdered over $100,and folks on craigslist tend to not answer my calls likely because i have a indianapolis cell #. if i cant find someone ill just drive down to mineola and use my dads mig. I figured someone here would know someone or be certified themselves and want to make some quick cash.

Downs

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Hunt County Texas
First Name
Joshua
Last Name
Downs
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KK6RBI / WQYH678
Service Branch
USMC 03-16, FIRE/EMS
There's a few machine shops down here in Greenville that can probably do the work for you. FWIW I welded my sliders together with a flux core welder (Harbor Freight haha) and I can pick the whole side of the Jeep up with a high lift jack with no issue, never even had the welder overheat. They're bolted to the "frame rails" and to the pinch seam under the rocker panels everything else is welded. They've been bashed on a few rocks and are still good to go.

My previous 2 Jeeps also had homebuilt sliders that were built with cheap welders. They held up fine.

Go to town on it :)

Check out