Checking in from the dog house in Front Royal, VA!

• HTML tutorial

K9LTW

Rank IV
Investor

Traveler III

Front Royal, VA
First Name
Casey
Last Name
Arnold
Member #

Hey, everyone! While I have miles and miles under my belt...and knees...and ankles on the trail backpacking/camping/hiking, I'm new to the overlanding scene. The silver lining of this dumpster fire of a year was that I've had a ton of time to spend at home with my wife (who kicked brain cancer in the nuts recently) and dogs. As a result of having way too much free time, I started modding my daily driver '18 Forester XT with a lift, tires, skid plates, Prinsu rack replacement, etc. and hitting what trails that are in the area.

After enough pin stripes, my wife finally said, "Why don't you build something bigger we can all fit in?" Yup...I'm a lucky man. So I dove into the off-road Sequoia community and am currently building out an '05 SR5 4x4 that we plan to haul the fur missiles in up and down the east cost, and to visit friends in WY and CO when the time comes. It'll be getting the entire front end ripped out, and all four corners replaced here next week. As it sits, there's no way I'm risking blowing up an original LBJ with 255k miles on it!

In the meantime, I also built a lightweight, low-cost, off-roadable trailer back in the spring to slap our RTT on with the ability of utilizing the annex. We've been blessed to have a ton of time to make use of it. Many nights have already been spent in it in GW Nat'l Forest, on top of Flagpole Knob, and at Shenandoah River State Park.

We're a dog-loving, shooting, adventure-seeking, mounting biking, desk-hating (but it pays the bills), bourbon-sipping, beer-tipping, hiking, and camping family. The last thing I need is yet another money sink of a hobby, but...bring it on! At least overlanding is something I can do to FACILITATE the other hobbies as opposed to compete with them :sunglasses: