Belts and hoses

• HTML tutorial

Lazlo

Rank II
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Aspen, CO
Member #

I’m new to the overland world, and trying to get prepared for contingencies- I have an 1996 FJ80 and I keep hearing that folks have “belts and hoses” in their repair kits. I’m wondering if someone can recommend WHERE to purchase and WHAT to have on hand for these kinds of replacement parts. I searched these forums and can’t find this info, but if it is already there and I just have not found it... my apologies!
Thanks!!!

Lunch Box

Rank IV

Advocate II

Any auto parts house can sell you parts for a '96 FJ80. The real question is 'What parts to buy"? It wouldn't hurt to keep spare engine belts in your kit. And the tools to replace them on the trail. I've found cocooning burst hoses in duct tape generally works well enough till you can get to civilization.
Spare fuses, relays, tire plugs, and light bulbs couldn't hurt either. Ask yourself what could realistically leave you stranded on the trail, and what you could do about it short of calling a wrecker. If it's an item that looks dodgy right now, replace it in the comfort of your garage. If it sucks today, it'll REALLY suck out in BFE.

greydog

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Albuquerque, New Mexcio
First Name
Hugh
Last Name
Bryce
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KA5KLX
Well for what its worth I usually carry upper and lower hoses and a new serpentine belt. Not really fond of one belt driving everything under the hood. Been stuck in BFE before and it was a long walk to a tow truck. Not mention big bucks!!

Reactions: Lazlo

Lazlo

Rank II
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Aspen, CO
Member #

Well for what its worth I usually carry upper and lower hoses and a new serpentine belt. Not really fond of one belt driving everything under the hood. Been stuck in BFE before and it was a long walk to a tow truck. Not mention big bucks!!
thanks- sounds like a good plan.

Lazlo

Rank II
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Aspen, CO
Member #