Bed Rack vs. Cap (ARE style, or similar)

• HTML tutorial

bmward64

Rank 0

Contributor I

Pennsylvania, USA
First Name
Blair
Last Name
Ward
Hi all,

I'm sorta new to the whole forum thing. I've been lurking on this forum for a while, but have never really participated in one before. So, if this is in the wrong spot, or there is already a thread (didn't see one), please let me know.

Also, I am new to overlanding. I have done a decent amount of wheeling in the past, but never mixed camping with it. Don't know what was wrong with me.

I bought a 2019 Ford F150 Sport 4X4 Crew Cab with 5.5' bed. This truck is also my daily driver (this may be the difference?). I'm looking into modding this into an overlanding rig and have most of what I want to do in mind. RTT, bumpers, winches, lift, suspension, wheels and tires, fridge, battery systems etc. But, I have a problem understanding the popular direction that I'm trying to figure out regarding the bed setup and I'm hoping you guys can help me understand. I see that a vast majority of the truck builds on this forum, YouTube and other places go with a bed rack with the RTT on that.

Let me say this, I know that if I did a bed rack, I would get a full height one vs the shorter ones that let you keep the RTT in line with the roof of the cab. The reason for this is I want to do a 270 degree awning and a half height one would not be tall enough. Also, if I could afford it, I would go with a custom canopy setup, like a PCOR setup. With that being said, why is the bed rack a much more popular choice with you overlanders?

To me, it seems much more practical to have a (relatively) weather sealed and lockable bed space to place the fridge, kitchen, batteries, gear etc rather than all of that being exposed to the elements and to prying eyes. Also, when you're not out on the trails and take stuff out/off, I think the cap would look better. I know that part is completely subjective.