• HTML tutorial

Trail_pilot

Rank III

Enthusiast III

First Name
James
Last Name
Girard
Are you spinning the tires off the wheel? I would love beadlocks on my rig but the axles would likely cry lol. I am a fairly aggressive driver and run 6-8 psi max off road with out beadlocks. Also I would rather repair a blow out on the trail than a broken axle. But maybe I am not as hard on the skinny pedal as you are.
What kind of vehicle do you drive and what terrain do you hit?

smritte

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Ontario California
First Name
Scott
Last Name
SMR
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KO6BI
How do Beadlocks break axles? I've run the Walker Evens and the Raceline. Its just a rim that clamps the tire in place. If your referring to tire spinning, it wont matter whether of not you have a bead lock. I cant count the number of broken axles I have seen over the years. Most of those didn't come from tire spin. Big tires, low gearing, too small of axle diameter and fatigue. That's where most happen out here.

A couple of things you need to know about Beadlocks. Most tire shops wont touch them, you must torque the beadlock ring carefully or you chance warping it, they are not legal on the street in some states.
There's quite a number of fake beadlocks out there. some of which you can only tell its fake by carefully looking at it. This means the odds of you being pulled over for them is slim.

The area that I play in, it's a good idea to run them but I have only seen a couple of tires roll off the rims over a few decades. This didnt occur from tire spinning but flex on side hills or rocks running low pressure.