• Thread starter expeditionnorth
  • Start date
  • HTML tutorial
E

expeditionnorth

Back Country Navigator Review

I decided to test out this program using the GPS built into my Samsung tab2

Surprisingly it works !

I really like the app & need to select some other map options to see if the detail improves

Reactions: Kelly

Carnivore

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Blue Quill, Edmonton, AB, Canada
First Name
JPD
Last Name
Davis
Member #

Service Branch
Infantry vet. 88-03
I've been using this for about 4 years. Especially in northern Alberta where there minimal cell service. Sadly there's limited map options up here in Canada .

Nice thing with BCN, even if you don't have a mapset downloaded, you can still keep a track going for the trip back out.

ArmyofMike

Rank V
Launch Member

Off-Road Ranger I

fresno, ca
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KM6YFE
I like this app, but for the life of me, I can't figure it out. The mapping and the offline NEVER seems to work for me. It is more the user interface seems confusing-too many buttons, only icons not names and just feels conviluded.
Perhaps I need to sit down and watch some Youtube videos on it again. Always appears a good app, but just hasn't been useful for me.

YMMV

Reactions: expeditionnorth

Carnivore

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

First Name
JPD
Last Name
Davis
Member #

Service Branch
Infantry vet. 88-03
I like this app, but for the life of me, I can't figure it out. The mapping and the offline NEVER seems to work for me. It is more the user interface seems confusing-too many buttons, only icons not names and just feels conviluded.
Perhaps I need to sit down and watch some Youtube videos on it again. Always appears a good app, but just hasn't been useful for me.

YMMV
There's definitely a learning curve. I muddled through it years ago when we used to go geocaching. Although, as time went on and more features were added it seemed we used it less.