Launch Member

Traveler II

Carlsbad, CA, USA
First Name
user
Last Name
name
Member #

I have plenty of experience with selectable lockers factory and ARB but now that I am building out another rig just for overlanding that I have already spent more $ then I'd like to admit I need to ask the question is an auto locker an option? I figure rear is a good bet what about upfront will I be spending too much time locking and unlocking hubs in tight trails? I have heard auto lockers can cause problems with frozen pavement?

Truck 1988 HJ70 (Consider long wheelbase) 5 spd, manual locking hubs with RV camper on the back. This is NOT a daly driver. I think for almost everything I want it to do auto is fine my question is for those who might have experience with auto lockers in the slick stuff, snow, mud? With this much in... is it really just a case of F* it do it right and install ARBs? I would install an auto locker myself I will not install an ARB myself so there is additional consideration there. (Air compressor already on-board)

IMG_0698.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: aaa247

Lindenwood

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

New Mexico
First Name
Jay
Last Name
M
Member #

I only have experience with a selectable and a 100% locked rear end.

I will be re-gearing in probably 6-8 months, and have been looking into this a lot as well. I have read pretty often that most autolockers are not great on icy roads. Since this will be my DD and Id like for the wife to be able to safely drive it, I have largely decided against them. I am still, however, somewhat considering a Torsen-style TruTrac diff, since I realistically think they will do everything I need them to do, especially with the ATRAC on my 4runner backing them up. Still, I understand they are not as predictable in slick conditions as an open diff, so the extra $500 for an ARB might be what I have to do.