• HTML tutorial

LizardJedi

Rank I
Launch Member

Traveler I

San Jose, CA
Member #

Hi All!

So I'm pretty new to all of this Overlanding stuff, but I've been increasingly interested in what my Forester can do.

The car in my avatar is my trusty old 2012 Forester... which is sadly no longer with us. Freddy (short for Frederick) was stolen at the end of January, and still has not been recovered.
While in the grieving process, I starting looking at all the various things I could do if I ever got the car back.

Fast forward to now, the insurance has been paid, and now I'm cruising around in Freddy Jr. - a 2018 Forester Limited.

My running thought process is this - I want my car to best enable my existing hobbies. This includes Tahoe trips, and drives to random areas for epic hikes and the like. Most of my camping experiences have been more backpacking in nature vs. car-camping, but I'm really interested in using my car in that manner. Death Valley, for instance, has been on my list for a long while, and I'm seeing ways I could do that better with a car camping setup vs. backpacking.

This build is going to be a long slow process - but I figure a thread like this will help keep me on track, and make me take progress pics along the way! (Upon filling out my insurance paperwork, I realized I didn't really have any good pics of my old car - want to change that this time)

My short list of things to do is this:
1) Weathertechs! This is small but nearly first priority next to...
2) Crossbars. I had the standard Subaru ones before, now trying to figure out if the Yakima RailBar is worth the 2x price-tag.