Air compressors

• HTML tutorial

KY JKU Recon

Rank I
Launch Member

Traveler I

Kentucky
Member #

I am new to the Overlanding community and just starting to build out my 2017 JKU and my sons 2014 5th gen 4Runner. One of the issues I keep hearing about is airing down/up for best traction on a variety of trails and needing a good air compressor to be able to deal with this. We ride in the southeast now but are planning a trip to Ouray and Moab for summer 2019 and realize we will need to be able to air down/up and are looking for advice on the best compressor set up for doing this. I have seen numerous ARB setups for both under the hood or under the passenger seat as well as portable set ups. I have heard good and bad about under the hood and am just wondering what the pros and cons are for different set ups. Cost is always an issue as I would like to keep the cost under $600. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Reactions: Boort

vegasjeepguy

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate II

Gravette, AR, USA
Member #

I have a portable Vaiar 440P that hooks up to the battery terminals and it works great for airing up my 33” tires from 15psi back up to 32psi. The drawback is unpacking the compressor from the tailgate, hooking it up to the battery and then repacking the compressor (after waiting for it to cool down). A buddy of mine hardwired an ARB compressor under the passenger seat of his JKU and that is so much more convenient. When we go out together, I don’t even bother to unpack mine and just use his. Pretty sure the ARB setup was right at $600.

Last edited:

systemdelete

Rank V
Launch Member

Pathfinder I

Nashville, TN
First Name
Erik
Last Name
Rumbaugh
Member #