PastorJ

Rank I

Contributor III

Kennesaw, GA, USA
First Name
Jared
Last Name
Lathem
I'm new to overland camping but not camping. I want to outfit my new truck so that we can use it for trips and not haul our travel trailer. There are 6 of us. My wife and I are fine with sleeping in the bed and putting the 4 kids in a rooftop tent (they don't weigh too much). I am just not sure where to start. Here is what I think I need:

1) Camper shell
2) roof rack for camper shell and cab.
3) Roof tent

I don't want need the best of the best. I just need something that works well. The issue I have is putting all the separate pieces together. I don't want to buy something only to discover later it doesn't work with the other thing I bought, if that makes sense. I would love your opinions and recommendations.

RoarinRow

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Elk Grove, CA, USA
First Name
Rolando
Last Name
Nispiros
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6JJS
If you want to go the roof tent mount on camper shell, then I would definitely look for on that is reinforced from the inside or one that you can add a contractor's type reinforcement on the outside of shell, especially if putting 4 kids. I have a camper shell and was thinking the same, but with my lift and truck already being high, I didn't want to chance it with my kid's falling off the roof or ladder that far up. Instead with have a pop up ground tent from Gazelle and works perfectly for our family of 5.

tjZ06

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate I

Las Vegas/Palo Alto
First Name
mynameisntallowed
Last Name
Adams
Member #