Launch Member

Traveler III

Central Arkansas
First Name
Tim
Last Name
Hughes
Member #

I picked up a 2019 4Runner TRD ORP as a replacement for my 2003 4Runner Limited last July and due to work and COVID I’m just getting started. My last build thread was for a 2002 4Runner Limited and I enjoy looking back at the changes and the trips that it allowed me. I’ll use this post as a build thread and document trips going forward. Looking forward to your suggestions and comments.

2003 4Runner Limited (180,000 miles) traded in. I miss the V8. You can see my old 2002 Limited in the background my daughter drives now.

2019 4Runner TRD ORP Day I picked it up.

First mod was to add two USB outlets and battery voltage display. Cut the 12v plug off and soldered the new plug into place.

Next was to get rid of the silver on the front until I can pick up a replacement Hybrid bumper. Sprayed with plastidip as a temporary fix. Around this same time I did a 1”/1.25” spacer lift from Burtman Ind. (I didn’t get any pics during he lift)

I had my OB badge for sometime but never mounted it on my older rigs. Decided it was time to show my support.

I don’t have any pics of it but the family got me an Alpine ilx-f309 for christamas which got installed also. So, now I have access to vehicle information that really should be included with the 4runner (i.e. tire pressure/temp, doors opening and vehicle specific settings). I’ll get more pics up soon of other mods I’ve made recently but haven’t saved to flikr. We are planning a trip to Ouray, CO in the coming weeks so there were a few things I wanted to be sure to knock out before going.

tchughes

Rank IV
Launch Member

Traveler III

Central Arkansas
First Name
Tim
Last Name
Hughes
Member #

@tchughes I like your USB/battery voltage thing. How did you wire it up?