Staff member

Member III

Falmouth, MA, USA
First Name
Kevin
Last Name
Nova
Member #

Thought it was about time that I started my build thread, now that I've begun my journey. I am new to overlanding and this is my first 4x4/off-road capable vehicle. It's our (my wife and I's) only vehicle and daily driver ..... so I'll be keeping it relatively mild.

She is a 2016 Trail Edition with KDSS. My overall impressions of the 4Runner are that it is extremely capable, very smooth, decent gas milage, and has all the power I need.

Only mods so far are switching our all the interior lights for LEDs and of course the 5HP OB Badge. :)

I just placed my roof rack order from GOBI, so I should have that in 12-16 weeks (minimum they say). I selected the Stealth with ladder and 2 crossbars. I also picked up a 42" Pelican case for my recovery gear once my rack is installed. Considering moving my spare to to the roof as well, but can't decide on that one.

For what's next.... I have my eye on TRD front skid plate, Orange Boxx Fabrication molli panels for both sides of the rear windows, C4 Rock Sliders, and C4 LowPro front bumper, KO2s (not sure what size I want yet), and new rims/wheels. I also can't decide on lift just yet, but I've got plenty to keep me busy for a while.

Last edited:

MtnPwnd

Rank 0

Traveler I

Mountain Home Idaho
Ham/GMRS Callsign
KI7IFA
I love those 4Runners. All the generations of them have great style and nice capability but I have a hard time bringing myself to pay the premium price for something that has over 200k miles on it. It's just crazy how they hold on to their value so well. Good for you man and I can't wait to see how it comes out.

Reactions: Nomadik Nova

Nomadik Nova

Rank VI
Staff member

Member III

Falmouth, MA, USA
First Name
Kevin
Last Name
Nova
Member #