2014 GC overland, overlander build

• HTML tutorial

Crittertowne

Rank 0

Traveler I

Hi guys,
My name is Chris, I'm from st. Louis Mo. And I'm very new to overlanding.
Currently I own a 2014 grand Cherokee overland with the 3.0 liter ecodiesel. It has all the bells and whistles, air ride suspension and quadra drive 2.

I've got a lot of questions about the route I should go.
First and foremost, should I use my GC as my overland vehicle? It is very capable with a very far reaching range and leaves nothing desired in the power or comfort department. While I've read about reliability issues with jeep, I have yet to experience that, aside from EPA things with the diesel (DEF tank going empty, and exhaust filter filling up)
My jeep is a very nice vehicle I don't even think its trail rated due to the luxury aspect but scratches and dings don't bother me that much, hence the dings and knocked out reflector on the back (I intend on getting it wrapped plus I want to be the last owner of this jeep). While I love the Toyota's, I already own a jeep.... and I'm in love with the diesel, which Toyota does not offer. If I use my GC as an overland i already know what I need to do first, armor for the undercarriage, it doesn't even have a splash guard, then tires I would assume. But I think the air ride suspension is going to have to be addressed at some point?

I've got more questions obviously but would like this thread to make sense for at least a page.20181019_090540.jpg 20181019_090548.jpg 20181019_090558.jpg

Directive51

Rank IV
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Wetumpka, AL, USA
First Name
Neil
Last Name
Hoggard
Member #

Hi guys,
My name is Chris, I'm from st. Louis Mo. And I'm very new to overlanding.
Currently I own a 2014 grand Cherokee overland with the 3.0 liter ecodiesel. It has all the bells and whistles, air ride suspension and quadra drive 2.

I've got a lot of questions about the route I should go.