Contributor I

Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
First Name
Jason
Last Name
Ahrens
Member #

Hi everyone,

I am starting a 2006 Land Cruiser overland build. I just found a super clean Cruiser with 160,000 miles. I will be working with Adventure Motors in Kansas City. They are a great company and give excellent service.

I am pretty new to overlanding but I will be moving to Botswana and want to have a capable rig. I wont be doing any rock crawling mostly, tar roads, dirt, gravel, sand, and a few water crossings. I need it to be reliable since we will be driving through places with no vehicle service or tow capability. We plan on traveling through Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Any advice on accessories or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Still deciding on wheels/tires and lighting. I will be posting pictures throughout. Here is the build plan so far:

Complete OME suspension kit - OME866 rear coils - 60000 shocks - 60002 shocks - torsion bars - slee diff drop kit - SPC adjustable upper control arms
ARB OME deluxe front winch bumper
Frontrunner Slimline II roof rack - full length
Smittybilt X20 10k synthetic line winch
ARB OME modular rear bumper system
ARB swing out tire carrier passenger side
ARB swing out jerry can carrier driver side
Switch Pros 9100
ARB CKMTA12 twin high performance air compressor
Slee Offroad dual battery tray / compressor mount
Slee Offroad Belly plate, Intermediate skid plate, - Steel
Slee Offroad front skid plate - Aluminum
Slee Offroad SliderSteps
ARB Safari snorkel kit

image_215235_img_8368.jpg image_215235_img_8370.jpg image_215235_img_8390.jpg

Last edited:

Mambo

Rank III

Enthusiast III

Hi everyone,

I am starting a 2006 Land Cruiser overland build. I just found a super clean Cruiser with 160,000 miles. I will be working with Adventure Motors in Kansas City. They are a great company and give excellent service.