Launch Member

Traveler III

Asheville
First Name
Andy
Last Name
Allen
Member #

F9A6D7C0-9DAC-4C67-9C45-0850F937D0CE.jpeg CC6372C6-ED57-4FC4-A213-5F60170CA2FB.jpeg 55181A85-5F6E-4592-9826-0DBA258100A0.jpeg Hey folks, just joined the community and am looking forward to contributing in any way I can!
I bought my Disco about three months ago, it was bone stock with a Voyager roof rack. Pictures will sort of explain the evolution as the thread goes on

disco_unchained

Rank IV
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Burlingame, CA, USA
Member #

Andy Allen

Rank III
Launch Member

Traveler III

Asheville
First Name
Andy
Last Name
Allen
Member #

Welcome, from one disco owner to another! Get your wrenches ready!
Thanks! I actually work on discos for a living, so thankfully I have lots of practice [emoji23] any recommendations on gear to make it a little more “adventure ready”?

Andy Allen

Rank III
Launch Member

Traveler III

Asheville
First Name
Andy
Last Name
Allen
Member #

Nice looking disco! I too have recently acquired at disco 2 (2003) which I am hard at work on already. I have a long list of things to do to it, but I am currently investigating an engine tap. Hoping for valve line issues as opposed to cylinder problems.View attachment 76298View attachment 76299
Mine taps too, they all have funky noises. Mine is a lifter, but since yours is a 2003 I would investigate your oil pump as they have a rather troubling tendency to fail on those engines due to a defect in the block casting. I have fixed several, you just need to remove the lower alignment dowel on the front of the block before reinstalling the timing cover.

Reactions: CZHipster

CZHipster

Rank III
Launch Member

Enthusiast II

South West Florida
Member #