Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
First Name
Kelly
Last Name
Herrin
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KFØDEX
Can't find a roof rack that does exactly what you'd like? Want to build your own, but don't have a welder? Or, you can weld steel, but it's too heavy? I found a solution. 3/4" (ID) Schedule 40 (thick wall) Aluminum Speed-Rail. If you can use Tinker Toys, you can not only build your own rack, but you can change/add-on/redesign anytime you want. All you need is a Sawzall (or angle grinder or chop saw) & a 3/16" allen wrench!!!

http://www.hollaender.com/?page=sliponfittings

I also used 1" Square Tube (1/16th wall) as a "Floor".

I work as a Rigger in the Film Industry. We build stuff out of the 1 1/2" version on this stuff all the time.

Examples: http://www.all-in-one-truck.com/rigging.htm

Feel free to contact me for more info.

IMG_4005.JPG IMG_4006.JPG IMG_4010.PNG

Kelly

US Full-time/Long Term Travel Member Rep
Launch Member

Traveler III

First Name
Kelly
Last Name
Herrin
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KFØDEX
How'd you attach that to the roof? And about how much was the rack you made?
The fittings aren't cheap, but I've changed the configuration a couple times for very little. I've got about $400 in it. I used four 2" pieces of angle iron to attach it to the factory roof rack rails. Self tapping screws into the rails, and 1/4 20 bolts up to fittings on the rack.IMG_4117.PNG

Reactions: maxfederle89

Kelly

Launch Member

Traveler III

First Name
Kelly
Last Name
Herrin
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KFØDEX
How'd you attach that to the roof? And about how much was the rack you made?
I see you have a van. The cool thing about Speed-Rail is you can get the pipe in 20' pieces. So you could Rack the entire length of the roof, and it's strong enough to make a ladder as well.

Kelly

Launch Member

Traveler III

First Name
Kelly
Last Name
Herrin
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KFØDEX